Livestock producers receive tax relief for 2018

  From the November 5, 2018 issue of Agri-News
Subscribe to our free E-Newsletter, "Agri-News" (formerly RTW This Week)Agri-News
This Week
     Agri-News HomeAgri-News Home
 The Government of Canada has released a list of additional regions in Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Quebec and New Brunswick where livestock tax deferral has been authorized for 2018 due to dry conditions.

On September 14, 2018, the Government announced the initial list of prescribed regions in British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, and Quebec for livestock tax deferral purposes.

The livestock tax deferral provision allows producers in prescribed drought or excess moisture regions to defer a portion of their 2018 sale proceeds of breeding livestock until 2019 to help replenish the herd. The cost of replacing the animals in 2019 will offset the deferred income, thereby reducing the tax burden associated with the original sale.

Eligibility for the tax deferral is limited to those producers located inside the prescribed areas. Producers in those regions can request the tax deferral when filing their 2018 income tax returns.


“This past year, extreme weather conditions have caused feed shortfalls for Canada’s livestock producers in several provinces. The Livestock Tax Deferral Provision will help give producers the resources needed to help rebuild their herds and get back to business.”

- Lawrence MacAulay, Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food

Quick Facts

Low moisture levels resulted in significant forage shortages for livestock producers in British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Quebec and New Brunswick in 2018. One option for producers is to reduce their breeding herd in order to manage feed supplies.

In addition to the livestock tax deferral provision, producers have access to assistance through existing Canadian Agricultural Partnership Business Risk Management programs, which include AgriInsurance, AgriStability and AgriInvest.

Related Products

Livestock Tax Deferral Provision-List of Prescribed Regions for 2018

Katie Hawkins
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Lawrence MacAulay

Media Relations
Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada
Ottawa, Ontario

view Agri-News RSS FeedAgri-News RSS Feed      Share via

For more information about the content of this document, contact Christine Chomiak.
This information published to the web on October 30, 2018.