Tax Deferral Program for Prescribed Drought Region

Subscribe to our free E-Newsletter, "Agri-News" (formerly RTW This Week)Sign up for our
Program Information


Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada

For Further Information Contact:

Owners of breeding livestock in designated areas

Program Details
  Under this program, owners of breeding livestock in designated areas who are forced to sell all or part of their breeding herd due to drought conditions, are eligible for a one-year tax deferral on income from those sales.

The deferral allows eligible farmers to defer income tax on the sale of breeding livestock for one year to replenish breeding stock in the following year. In the case of consecutive years of drought designation, producers may defer sales income to the first year in which the area is no longer designated. Eligible farmers will be able to request this deferral when filing their income tax returns.

2015 Designated Drought Areas in Alberta

  • Athabasca County
  • Birch Hills County
  • Brazeau County
  • Camrose County
  • Cardston County
  • Clear Hills County
  • Clearwater County
  • County of Barrhead No. 11
  • County of Forty Mile No. 8
  • County of Lethbridge
  • County of Minburn No. 27
  • County of Newell No. 4
  • County of Paintearth No. 18
  • County of St. Paul No. 19
  • County of Thorhild No. 7
  • County of Two Hills No. 21
  • County of Vermilion River
  • County of Warner No. 5
  • County of Wetaskiwin No. 10
  • County of Woodlands
  • Crowsnest Pass
  • Cypress County
  • Flagstaff County
  • Improvement District No. 9 Banff
  • Kananaskis Improvement District
  • Kneehill County
  • Lac La Biche County
  • Lac Ste. Anne County
  • Lacombe County
  • Lamont County
  • Leduc County
  • Mackenzie County
  • Mountain View County
  • Municipal District of Acadia
  • Municipal District of Beaver County
  • Municipal District of Big Lakes
  • Municipal District of Bighorn No. 8
  • Municipal District of Bonnyville No. 87
  • Municipal District of Fairview
  • Municipal District of Foothills No. 31
  • Municipal District of Lesser Slave River No.124
  • Municipal District of Opportunity No. 17
  • Municipal District of Peace
  • Municipal District of Pincher Creek No. 9
  • Municipal District of Provost No. 52
  • Municipal District of Ranchland No. 66
  • Municipal District of Smoky River
  • Municipal District of Taber
  • Municipal District of Wainwright No. 61
  • Municipal District of Willow Creek No. 26
  • Northern Lights County
  • Northern Sunrise County
  • Parkland County
  • Ponoka County
  • Red Deer County
  • Rocky View County
  • Smoky Lake County
  • Special Area No. 2
  • Special Area No. 3
  • Special Area No. 4
  • Starland County
  • Stettler County No. 6
  • Strathcona County
  • Sturgeon County
  • Vulcan County
  • Westlock County
  • Wheatland County
  • Yellowhead County
Additional designations:
  • County of Grande Prairie No. 1
  • Municipal District of Greenview No. 16
  • Saddle Hills County
  • Municipal District of Spirit River No. 133
For more information, contact a local Canada Revenue Agency office.
Share via
For more information about the content of this document, contact Ag-Info Centre.

Last Reviewed/Revised on May 16, 2016.