Salinity Distribution within the County of Vulcan

Subscribe to our free E-Newsletter, "Agri-News" (formerly RTW This Week)Agri-News
This Week
 Analysis of the salinity mapping data for the County of Vulcan shows that there are 2 539 saline areas in the County, covering a total of 14 808 ha (36 592 ac). The visibly saline areas have such high salinity levels that annual crops cannot be grown and forage crops have significantly reduced yields. Often the lands surrounding the visibly saline areas are also weakly saline, resulting in reduced yields especially for salt-sensitive crops.

Depression bottom salinity is the most common form of salinity (23.1% of saline areas in the County), followed by coulee bottom salinity (20.0%) of saline areas), artesian salinity (19.9%, contact/slope change salinity 14%), irrigation salinity (11.2%), slough ring salinity (6.6%), natural/irrigation salinity (3.5%), and outcrop salinity (1.6%).

Total saline area by type

Please refer to Salinity Classification, Mapping and Management in Alberta for more information.

Share via
For more information about the content of this document, contact Karen Raven.
This document is maintained by Laura Thygesen.
This information published to the web on July 7, 2004.
Last Reviewed/Revised on June 6, 2018.