2011 Agronomy Update Conference

 
 
Subscribe to our free E-Newsletter, "Agri-News" (formerly RTW This Week)Agri-News
This Week
 
 
 
 Agenda - Day 1 | Agenda - Day 2 | Speaker Contact List - Day 1 | Speaker Contact List - Day 2

Agronomy Update Conference Agenda

Tuesday January 18, 2011

7:30-8:30 Registration

8:30 Welcome - Ron Lamb, SARA

8:40 Crop Year in Review - Norm Flore, Viterra - 2MB PDF

Disease Management - Rob Dunn, Chair

9:00 Disease synopsis and forecast - Dr. Ron Howard, ARD - 5.1MB PDF

9:20 Cereal leaf disease management - Dr. Kelly Turkington, AAFC - 1268 K PDF

9:35 Pea and lentil disease management - Robyne Bowness, ARD - 1 MB PDF

9:50-10:15 Coffee Break - Sponsored by Alberta Canola Producers

10:15 Canola diseases and management - Clint Jurke, Canola Council - 668 K PDF

10:30 Seed and seed-borne diseases - Kevin Zaychuk, 20/20 Seed Labs - 1.5 MB PDF

Insect Management - George Lubberts, Chair

10:45 Insect synopsis and forecast - Scott Meers, ARD - 1.3 MB PDF

11:15 One-shot control for cabbage seed pod weevil and lygus - Dr. Hector Carcamo, AAFC - 512 K PDF

11:30 Pea leaf weevil update - Dr. Hector Carcamo, AAFC - 534 K PDF

11:45 Wireworm control - Dr. Bob Vernon, AAFC - 3.3 MB PDF

12:15-1:15 Lunch

Sustainable Cropping - Troy Prosofsky, Chair

1:15 Challenges of soil nutrient management - Dr. Ross McKenzie, ARD - 1 MB PDF

1:45 Potential for canola after pulse crops - Dr. Bob Blackshaw, AAFC - 451 K PDF

2:00 Crop rotation effects on soil biology and health - Dr. Newton Lupwayi, AAFC

2:20 Effects of dryland rotations on crop yield and soil quality - Dr. Eric Bremer, Symbio Ag

Consulting - 885 K PDF

2:40-3:00 Coffee Break - Sponsored by Alberta Barley Commission

Weed and Herbicide Management - Dr. Bob Blackshaw, Chair

3:00 Herbicide resistance update - Dr. Hugh Beckie, AAFC - 3.4 MB PDF

3:45 Industry Updates - Dow AgroSciences - Brian Wintonyk - 386 K PDF, Bayer CropScience - Garett Cowan - 802 K PDF, BASF - Mark Oostlander - 845 K PDF, Dupont - Patricia Rawlek - 239 K PDF, Syngenta - Randy Retzlaff - 1.5 MF PDF

5:00-6:30 Social - Hosted Bar

Sponsor - Dow AgroSciences

Wednesday January 19, 2011

7:30-8:30 Coffee

Crop Management - Dr. Shelley Woods, Chair

8:30 Oilseed crops for biodiesel - Dr. Bob Blackshaw, AAFC - 653 K PDF

8:45 Cereal crops for bio-industrial uses - Brian Beres, AAFC - 615 K PDF

9:00 Canola production update - Troy Prosofsky, Canola Council - 1.4 MB PDF

9:15 Pulse production update - Mark Olson, ARD - 949 K PDF

9:30 Optimizing lentil production - Dr. Bert Vandenberg, University of Saskatchewan - Presentation not posted

10:15-10:40 Coffee Break - sponsored by Alberta Pulse Growers

Precision Farming - Ken Coles, Chair

10:40 Precision ag equipment - Mike Bevans, ARD - 286 K PDF

11:10 Inter-row seeding - Ken Coles, SARA - 2.5 MB PDF

11:30 Using variable rate technology beyond the obvious - Mark Wobick, Meyers Norris Penny - 151 K PDF

11:50 Remote imagery, yield maps and site specific management - Tom Goddard, ARD - 1.6 MB PDF

12:10-1:10 Lunch

Business Management - Trevor Wallace, Chair

1:10 Real-time weather and probability information - Ralph Wright, ARD - 2.3 MB PDF

1:25 Assessing agronomic advice - Ken Coles, SARA/George Lubberts, Complete Agronomic

Services

1:45 Managing farm risk through crop diversification - A farmer’s perspective - John Kolk, Iron Springs - 351 K PDF, Ryan Mercer, Mercer Seeds - 1.36 MB PDF

2:15 Propaganda, proof and profit - Denise Maurice, Canola Council of Canada - 817 K PDF

3:00 Wrap Up - Trevor Wallace

Agronomy Update Conference - Speaker Contact List

(Tuesday - In order of appearance)

Norm Flore
Viterra
Phone: (403) 279-1155
Email: norm.flore@viterra.ca

Dr. Ron Howard
Plant Pathology Research Scientist
Agriculture and Rural Development
Phone: (403) 362-1328
Email: ron.howard@gov.ab.ca

Dr. Kelly Turkington
Plant Pathology Research Scientist
Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada
Email: kelly.turkington@agr.gc.ca

Robyne Bowness
Pulse Crop Pathology Technologist
Agriculture and Rural Development
Phone: (403) 782-8595
Email: robyne.bowness@gov.ab.ca

Clint Jurke
Agronomy Specialist, Western
Canola Council of Canada
Phone: (306) 821-2935
Email: jurkec@canolacouncil.org

Kevin Zaychuk
Business Development Manager
20/20 Seed Labs
Email: kevin@2020seedlabs.ca

George Lubberts
Complete Agronomic Services
Email: agronomy@platinum.ca

Scott Meers
Integrated Crop Management Specialist
Agriculture and Rural Development
Phone: (403) 362-1366
Email: scott.meers@gov.ab.ca

Dr. Hector Carcamo
Research Scientist
Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada
Phone: (403)317-2247
Email: hector.carcamo@agr.gc.ca

Dr. Bob Vernon
Research Scientist
Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada
Phone: (604) 796-1708
Email: bob.vernon@agr.gc.ca

Troy Prosofsky
Agronomy Specialist, Alberta South
Canola Council of Canada
Phone: (403) 332-1412
Email: prosofskyt@canolacouncil.org

Dr. Ross McKenizie
Agriculture and Rural Development
Agronomy Research Scientist
Phone: (403) 381-5842
Email: ross.mckenzie@gov.ab.ca

Dr. Bob Blackshaw
Research Scientist – Weed Science
Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada
Phone: (403) 317-2268
Email: blackshaw@agr.gc.ca

Dr. Newton Lupwayi
Research Scientist, Environmental Health
Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada
Phone: (403) 317-3315
Email: newton.lupwayi@agr.gc.ca

Dr. Eric Bremer
Symbio Ag Consulting
Phone: (403) 394-4310

Dr. Hugh Beckie
Research Scientist - Herbicide-Resistant Plants
Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada
Phone: (306) 956-7251
Email: hugh.beckie@agr.gc.ca

Brian Wintonyk
Solutions Center Sales and Agronomy Leader
Dow AgroSciences
Phone: (403) 735-8828
Email: bawintonyk@dow.com

Garett Cowan
Territory Sales Manager
Bayer CropScience
Phone: (403) 308-9704
Email: garett.cowan@bayer.com

Mark Oostlander
Technical Development Specialist
BASF
Phone: (403) 227-6041
Email: mark.oostlander@basf.com

Patricia Rawlek
Territory Sales Rep – Calgary South
Dupont Canada
Phone: (403) 540-0218
Email: patricia@rawlek@can.dupont.com

Randy Retzlaff
Technical Field Manager, Alberta
Syngenta Crop Protection Canada Inc.
Phone: (403) 542-1664
Email: randy.retzlaff@syngenta.com


Agronomy Update Conference - Speaker Contact List

(Wednesday - In order of appearance)

Brian Beres
Biologist, ICM Systems
Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada
Phone: (403)317-2251
Email: brian.beres@agr.gc.ca

Mark Olson
Pulse Crops Research Agologist
Agriculture and Rural Development
Phone: (780) 968-3556
Email: mark.olson@gov.ab.ca

Dr. Bert Vandenberg
Professor, NSERC Industrial Research Chair
University of Saskatchewan
Phone: (306) 966-8786
Email: bert.vandenberg@usask.ca

Ken Coles
General Manager, Agronomist
Southern Applied Research Association
Phone: (403) 381-5118
Email: ken@farmingsmarter.com

Mike Bevans
Project Engineer
Agriculture and Rural Development
Phone: (403) 329-1212 ext 225

Dr. Herb Cutforth
Agrometeorologist/Soil Physicist
Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada
Phone: (306) 778-7259
Email: herb.cutforth@agr.gc.ca

Mark Wobick
Farm Management Consultant
Meyers Norris Penny
Phone: (403) 329-1552
Email: mark.wobick@mnp.ca

Tom Goddard
Senior Policy Advisor
Agriculture and Rural Development
Phone: (780) 427-3067
Email: tom.goddard@gov.ab.ca

Ralph Wright
Head, Soil Moisture Unit
Agriculture and Rural Development
Phone: (780) 427-3556
Email: ralph.wright@gov.ab.ca

Ryan Mercer
Mercer Seeds Ltd
Phone: (403) 308-2297

John Kolk
Phone: (403) 330-9479
Email: jpkolk@telusplanet.net

Denise Maurice
Vice-President, Crop Production
Canola Council of Canada
Phone: (204) 982-2105
Email: mauriced@canolacouncil.org

 
 
 
 

Other Documents in the Series

 
  2014 Agronomy Update Conference
2013 Agronomy Update Conference
2012 Agronomy Update Conference
2011 Agronomy Update Conference - Current Document
 
 
 
 
For more information about the content of this document, contact Doon Pauly.
This document is maintained by Bonnie Hofer.
This information published to the web on January 20, 2011.
Last Reviewed/Revised on April 16, 2015.