,
,
 

Planning a Farm Safety Day Camp

 
 
Download 25.6 MBK pdf file ("Planning-a-Farm-Safety-Daycamp.pdf")PDF
(25.6 MBK)
     Subscribe to our free E-Newsletter, "Agri-News" (formerly RTW This Week)Agri-News
This Week
 
 
 
 
Home

Farmer/Rancher Safety

Young Farm Worker Safety

Children's Safety

Media

    Keeping Rural Kids Safe and Healthy

    So you’ve decided to organize a farm safety day camp. Congratulations! You have taken a leadership role in your community to ensure the safety and health of our rural children. Your efforts will make a big difference in your community!

    You might be wondering where to start and how much work is involved. You likely have other questions too:

    • Where do I start?
    • Exactly what am I getting into by agreeing to be a coordinator, volunteer or presenter?
    • How much will a farm safety day camp cost?
    • Where do I find presenters?
    • Where should I hold the day camp?
    • Where do I find resources for the day camp?
    • What guidelines and instructions are needed to ensure that instructors give correct farm safety messages?
    • What is a coordinator responsible for?
    • When should I hold the day camp?
    • What age should attend?
    • What should be given to the children to take home?
    This guide has been put together to help you answer these questions. It is based on the experiences of many other day camps organized by people just like you in communities all across Alberta. You can be sure these methods are tried and true!

    Alberta Farm Safety Program
    Email: farm.safety@gov.ab.ca
    or toll-free: 310-FARM (3276)

    Alberta Agriculture and Forestry Farm Safety Staff:
    Janice Donkers, Youth Coordinator: janice.donkers@gov.ab.ca
    Kenda Lubeck, Awareness Coordinator: kenda.lubeck@gov.ab.ca
    Raelyn Peterson, Coordinator: raelyn.d.peterson@gov.ab.ca
    Sharon Stollery, Manager: sharon.stollery@gov.ab.ca
    Blair Takahashi, Specialist: blair.takahashi@gov.ab.ca
 
 
 
 
Share via AddThis.com
,
Share via AddThis.com
For more information about the content of this document, contact Kenda Lubeck.
This information published to the web on December 20, 2007.
Last Reviewed/Revised on November 6, 2018.