Map of Irrigation Districts in Alberta

Download 754K pdf file ("detailed_districts_major_I.pdf")PDF
     Subscribe to our free E-Newsletter, "Agri-News" (formerly RTW This Week)Agri-News
This Week
  Alberta Irrigation DistrictsThere are thirteen irrigation districts in southern Alberta supplying water to approximately 1.41 million acres of assessed farmland.

An irrigation district is a corporation that operates under the authority of the Alberta Irrigation Districts Act whose primary purpose is to convey and deliver water through irrigation works,divert and use quantities of water within the terms of its licence, and to construct, operate and maintain irrigation works.

An irrigation district is the geographical area consisting of the parcels of land included in the district. The map shows the general location of these parcels. Not all parcels of land within the shaded areas are irrigated.

There are approximately 7,926 kilometres of irrigation conveyance infrastructure, comprised of a complex system of canals and pipelines that delivers the water from the rivers to the farm fields.

For a more detailed map showing "Irrigation Districts and Major Irrigation Works within Southern Alberta" check the attached detailed pdf.
Share via
For more information about the content of this document, contact Jennifer Nitschelm.
This document is maintained by Bonnie Hofer.
This information published to the web on November 24, 2009.
Last Reviewed/Revised on July 23, 2014.